Being at cause

Una vez visitando an señor que admiro mucho, me contó de este concepto de estar "at cause". Primero ni en inglés entendí muy bien el concepto, y después de buscar un poco en internet varias definiciones, encontre esta que me parecio la mejor:

Being at cause means that you are decisive in creating what you want in life and take responsibility for what you have achieved or will achieve. You see the world as a place of opportunity and you move toward achieving what you desire. If things are not unfolding as you would like, you take action and explore other possibilities. Above all, you know you have choice in what you do and how you react to people and events.

If you are at effect you may blame others or circumstances for your bad moods or for what you have not achieved or for your life in general. You may feel powerless or depend on others in order for you to feel good about yourself or about life - If only my spouse, my boss, my coworkers, my parents, my children, ... understood me and helped me achieve my dreams or did what I wanted or what is best for me, then life would be great. If you wait and hope for things to be different or for others to provide, then you are at effect or a victim of circumstances. And really, how much fun is that? And how much fun do you think it is for others to be around you? Believing that someone else is responsible or making them responsible for your happiness or your different moods is very limiting and gives this person some mystical power over you, which can cause you a great deal of anguish.

Source: http://www.renewal.ca/nlp22.htm

Un concepto importante de darse cuenta, uno siempre puede influenciar al 100% algo que uno escoga tener influencia directa. A nivel personal, esto es muy relevante, versus dejarse llevar por la corriente de lo que le va a pasar a uno (o estar "at effect").